The ever popular annual Pattaya Sports Club Championship was held over 2 days on Tuesday 8th and Friday 11th January.

Day 1 There was 136 competitors in this year’s event which had 6 Flights.

A and B Flights played medal from the Yellow tees.

C and D Flights played Stableford from the white tees

Ladies played medal from the red tees.

For the first time there was a ‘Senior Flight’ for those aged over 70 who had opted to play from the new PSC silver tees (their handicap adjusted accordingly) that are on all the local courses.

All 136 arrived well in time for the 2 tee start and were welcomed for registration by Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham, Social Chairman Nigel Cannon and Charity Chairman William Macey. As more ladies are entering the monthly competitions, there was a variation to the design of the ladies shirts for they had a choice of the usual design or the sleeveless variety. The weather was fine and the course in pristine condition so all was set for a great 2 day competition.

At the end of day 1 there were 4 candidates vying for top spot. The main contenders for low gross was Mike Allidi, Dave Stockton, Jeff Wylie and Paul Smith. In the ladies competition, there was to be a head to head between Yui Bietry 78(11) and Ning Neal 77(10) although there were a number of other ladies with net totals in the low 70s. An exciting day in prospect. There was some excellent scoring in every flight but, since this is a 2 day event, depends on the second round.

Day 2
Once again it was Joe and Nigel on the registration desk and all was set for a good day to find the three 2013 Champions – Men’s – Ladies – Senior.
There were 135 today with just one less than Tuesday due to sickness. The weather was a little cooler today and overcast – perfect for what was to be a memorable day’s golf.
Clearly the competition was keen as the rounds were a little longer than Tuesday. Perhaps some nerves were beginning to have an effect. PSC were using some recently purchased software to calculate the results both efficiently and quickly – thanks to help from Office Manager Mai. The Presentation was at Dicey Riley’s who again produced an excellent buffet matched with great service.

After all had partaken of the food and drink on offer it was presentation time – Nigel welcomed all to this the 19th Club Championship and introduced Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham who expressed his appreciation for the help he had from Nigel, William and Tony with a special mention for Mai. He went on to announce this was the first time that there would be a ‘Senior Champion’. With a full field he expressed his thanks to all of the competitors and apologized for those who were unable to secure a place.
Back to Nigel to announce the winners first the technical winners then the flight winners.
‘A’ Flight was won by Jan Anderson (6) with a 2 day total of 143 net.

Winning ‘B’ Flight again – as he did last month was Colin Greig (12) with 144 net.

‘C’ Flight winner with a fine 82 points (46 on day 1) was Michael Jefferys (19)

Sean Murphy (29) won ‘D’ Flight with 81 points.

The Ladies Flight was won by Sunnee Chamanrum (25) with 137 net.

Time now for the 3 Champions to be introduced.
The Silver Champion was Don Lehmer (17) with 173 gross.
The Ladies Champion on count back was Ning Neal (10) with 165 gross.
The Men’s Champion was Mike Allidi (2) with 152 gross.
Each Champion was greeted with a standing ovation – which is a PSC tradition.

All received trophies and Mike also received a golf bag kindly donated by our major Sponsor Singh who also provided 4 umbrellas.
Following the congratulations for the new Champions it was time for the lucky draw and the 50/50 draw.
Wendy Chetland kindly moved around the room selling the tickets . The first 3 numbers won green fee vouchers for Burapha and a lucky lady claimed the 50/50 final prize of the evening and went home very happy!

It was then goodnight following an excellent 2 day competition at Khao Kheow and the Presentation at Dicey Riley’s.
The next PSC Monthly in on Friday February 15th at Plutaluang Navy Course – sign up at PSC office or with a PSC golfing venue.

Words by Nigel Cannon
Photos by William Macey

Ning Neal – Ladies Champion

Noi & Yui – Flight runners up

Mike Allidi – Mens Champion

Don Leimer – Seniors Champion

Sean Murphy – Winner ‘D’ flight

Jan Anderson – ‘A’ flight winner

Werner Schwarz – Runner up ‘C’ flight

50/50 winner