131st PSC Monthly Tournament at Plutaluang

Friday 28th February Plutaluang

The choice of Plutaluang – the Navy Course – by Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham for this month’s tournament was a popular one by all 99 players – including 14 Ladies playing North and West 9’s on a perfect day for golf – not too hot – a slight breeze and an excellently presented course with rounds taking a little over 4 hours.

Joe Mooneyham and Nigel Cannon arrived early to place the necessary markers on the course and to prepare for registration. All players arrived well in time for the 2 tee start at 0930 with speedy booking in by the Plutaluang staff.

Low Gross winner this month was Bob Newell (9) coming in with a fine gross of 75 winning on count-back from Ken Aihara and Ian Heddle.

‘A’ Flight– playing stroke play from the White Tees saw Ken Aihara (4) with a net 71 taking the flight.

‘B’ Flight also playing from the White Tees playing Stableford saw the ever consistent Mashi Kaneta (15) in top spot with 38 points.

The best Stableford of the day came in ‘C’ Flight playing from the Yellow tees with Mick Beresford (19) coming in with a fine 41 points.

‘D’ Flight winner was John Hartigan (21) with 39 points.

Leading the Ladies Flight was Duangden Butpanya (15) with 38 points.

The Senior winner from Silver tees was Tom Breslin (26) with 37 points.

Click here for Results.

Dicey Rilley’s was the venue for the buffet and presentation with many of today’s players there enjoying the regular buffet with some ‘happy hour’ prices.

Presentation time – Nigel welcomed all to this the 131st monthly PSC tournament and introduced Golf Chairman Joe Mooneyham.

Joe expressed his appreciation to all of today’s competitors and particularly to Nigel, William, Noi for their help and the PSC office staff who do the preparatory work for the competitions.

Joe announced and gave details of the next competition which is the PSC major fund raiser of the year – The ‘Charity Classic’ at Burapha on Friday 21st March. It will be a two person scramble with a shotgun start at 1200 noon. There will be prizes for the top 10 teams and technical prizes on all 18 holes for the varying flights. In addition there will be a raffle, a 60/40 lucky draw with a wide selection of great prizes, many donated by our major sponsors Singha and the EGA. Khun Mike of Burapha has kindly agreed that on this special day members may walk. The competition will be followed by the buffet and presentation in the Burapha Clubhouse.

Bob Newell – low gross winner

Ken Aihara – ‘A’ flight winner.

Mashi Kaneta – ‘B’ flight winner

Khun Chu – Near pin’

Tom Breslin – Senior winner

Mick Beresford ‘C’ flight winner

50/50 winner

No Replies to "131st PSC Monthly Tournament at Plutaluang"