Growling Swan 25/04

Thursday, 25th April – Bangpra – Stableford

Samorn & Fred Win The Anzac Day Trophies!

ANZAC Day – 25th April – is probably Australia’s most important national occasion. It marks the anniversary of the first major military action fought by Australian and New Zealand forces during the First World War. Last year at The Growling Swan we held the inaugural Anzac Day Tournament so naturally the tradition must continue. Most of the 28 starters assembled at The Growling Swan at 0630 hrs for a short Memorial Service where “The Ode” was delivered, the Last Post was played and we all observed a minute’s silence to pay tribute to those brave men and women. It was then time to partake of the traditional rum & milk (just in shot glasses) and then prepare for the early departure time of 0730 hrs for a 0900 hrs tee off at Bangpra. We were very happy to welcome Americans Mick Fleetwood (no not that one), in Pattaya for a break from his work in Korea and his father Pat from Washington State, USA who is celebrating his 70th birthday – Happy Birthday Pat. Also Aussies Kevin Waycott, Mark Stapleton & Eddie Kost who are back with us again along with our good friend Takeshi Hakozaki from Japan. It was sadly time to say farewell to Gordon Clegg who is returning to his work in Saudi Arabia and also regular R & R visitor Bob Akapita who is off back to his work at Gove in the Northern Territory of Australia. Also Bon Voyage to yours truly who is going to Perth for a couple of weeks to have a bit of medical work done. 2 of our 3 mini vans departed right on time and the other one had to wait a few minutes for Paul Hack who just couldn’t get his makeup right therefore was running a few minutes late. We arrived at the course 45 minutes later to find things fairly quiet and after a few practice putts & chips we were able to send our first of seven four balls away right on schedule at 0900 hrs. It was hot and sticky but fine and the golf course as ever was in great shape. Some said they thought the greens were quite a bit slower than normal but if they found themselves above the hole a few times like I did they may have needed to revise that comment. The white tees appeared to be well back which made the course tough, particularly the first four holes so it was apparent that points scoring would be low on the day and that is indeed the way it turned out. After stopping a couple of times for much needed drink breaks in the heat we managed to complete the full round in four hours & twenty minutes. It had been a very enjoyable round of golf despite the heat and the toughness of the course and of course the company was first class.

There were two trophies up for grabs the same as last year with one Anzac Day Trophy for golfers with handicaps of 0 to 27 and the other one for handicaps of 28 and over. In addition we had 2 grades with a Grade for handicaps 0 to 17 and B Grade for 18 and over with five podium spots for each. There were also of course rewards for nearest the pins on all the par threes and longest first putts on the 9th & 18th greens.

The winner of the 0 to 27 Anzac Day Trophy with 34 points was Samorn Tanamsri and the 28 and over Anzac Day Trophy was won by Fred Dinely with the best score of the day, 35 points. A Grade was won on a count back by Paul Hack (17 point back nine) from Alain “Inspector Clouseau” Taddei (16 point back nine) with both on 33 points. In third place came Suparp “Anna” Korboon with 32 points, Mike “Hunter” Gosden fourth on 31 points & Bill Hewitt rounding off the podium on 27 points. The winner of the B Grade was American Mick Fleetwood with 31 points and Russell Calcutt finished second on 29 points. In third place came Andrew “Turtle” Allen with 25 points, Max “Corsets” Bracegirdle was fourth with 23 points and Gary Monley fifth with 22 points.

Fred Dineley, Peter Grey, Samorn Tanamsri, Mick Fleetwood & Paul Hack

Fred Dineley, Peter Grey, Samorn Tanamsri, Mick Fleetwood & Paul Hack

Results for Bangpra:

Anzac Day Trophy Winner – 0 to 27 – Samorn Tanamsri – 34 points
Anzac Day Trophy Winner – 28 and over – Fred Dineley – 35 points

A Grade – 0 to 17
1st – Paul Hack (14) – 33 points
2nd – Alain Taddei (17) – 33 points
3rd – Suparp Korboon (9) – 32 points
4th – Mike Gosden (12) – 31 points
5th – Bill Hewitt (17) – 27 points

B Grade – 18 & over
1st – Mick Fleetwood (18) – 31 points
2nd – Russell Calcutt (36) – 29 points
3rd – Andrew Allen (36) – 25 points
4th –Max Bracegirdle (27) – 23 points
5th – Gary Monley (36) – 22 points

2nd – Peter Bye
8th – Kevin Waycott
12th – Wanta Dacha
17th – Wanta Dacha

9th – Max Bracegirdle
18th – Andrew Allen

Despite a request from someone (Peter Grey) that the NAGA Award be suspended for this special occasion the plea fell on deaf ears and the cap was awarded to – yes, you’ve guessed it – Growling Swan Mine Host Peter Grey (the cap is still red in colour but is in danger of being changed to a different colour in the near future!) The NAGA Cap is awarded to the player who has the least attractive score on the day and discreetly this score is not made public. Peter then kindly took Deefa the Dog for a walk and collected many donations for the needy in Pattaya. It was back to The Growling Swan where presentations were conducted and there was a large crowd there enjoying the excellent facilities and celebrating this important day in the Australian Calendar.

Growling Swan Golf, the home of friendly golf in Pattaya welcomes golfers of any persuasion – low & high handicappers alike, female golfers and beginners. We generally play Mondays & Thursdays, meeting at The Growling Swan (formerly The Bunker Bar) in Soi Chaiyapoon at 8.00 am with transport departing at 8.30 am. For bookings or more information please contact Peter on 0806 351 386 or email to

No Replies to "Growling Swan 25/04"